top of page
Featured Posts

Vixen Vice is Ready for Spring!


Hello everyone!

I am Gina Rice creator and sole designer of Vixen Vice Jewelry. I am a little nervous because this is my very first blog post, but I thought it was time to do this in order for you to get to know a little more about me and my creative process for Vixen Vice. The first thing I want to say is that Vixen Vice is certainly ready for spring! Winters in the northeast can be very long and cold and I am excited to put away my turtleneck sweaters and boots and break out my scoop neck tops with a fab new art piece from Vixen Vice!

The new work is based on gestural metal forms, textural and sculptural crochet wire and some fused glass thrown in for a surprise pop of color. My inspiration came from teaching figure drawing and drawing composition classes,textural fibers of the winter and of course my love for color! Allow me to elaborate...

I have been teaching figure drawing and drawing and composition classes for the past two semesters and I simply love the gestural marks of pencil flowing across the paper. This became my inspiration for the metal pieces I began to create. They are minimal, light, airy and very comfortable to wear. They consist of a "gestural" scribble with the sterling wire as a focal point which is connected to a simple chain based on straight lines. The possibilities are endless with this design and I plan to explore it further pushing my use of the gesture as a focal line.

I am always interested in crochet when the weather turns cold and something about the fabulous textures and geometry in fibers always makes me feel creative. This season I was experimenting with free form crochet for rug patterns and tabletop coverings and this translated immediately into wearable art for Vixen Vice creations! The no-rules approach of free form crochet allowed my to explore exciting shapes for the jewelry. I began to use colorful copper wire and the combination of color and form really began to come together! The new free form crochet forms are organic and although some of them are quite large they remained light and comfortable to wear...the perfect combo for spring and summer!

I believe that the colored copper wire got me interested in using fused glass in some of my work. The smooth pop of color is just what I needed after a long, cold, gray east coast winter!

Before I exit this forum I would like to send out an extra special THANK YOU to my BEAUTIFUL and FABULOUS model! She is truly the face of Vixen Vice and I could never accomplish my dreams without her! Thanks G.T.L. for your beauty, generosity in helping me, and kind, playful spirit! I LOVE YOU!!!

You can see the new work at my ETSY shop:

https://www.etsy.com/shop/VixenVice?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Thank you for your visit!

I will post again soon!

Gina Rice

Vixen Vice Jewelry

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page