top of page
Featured Posts

A Vixen on a Journey!


I am welcoming in April with...yes, you guessed it...MORE COLOR! This months inspirations have been a combination of metal smithing with a glass technique I learned at a class at the Corning Museum of Glass in Corning, New York called Pate de Verre.

As many of you already know I have a background in teaching. In total I have been teaching for about fifteen years and I have taught everything from first grade drawing to college level sculpture. One of my favorite things about teaching, (and there are many things), is having the opportunity to learn new materials and techniques in order to grow as an artist for myself as well as to share with my students. So far, April has once again taken me on this familiar journey and I have been able to continue my "pop of color" for spring with patte de verre.

Pate de verre is a glass casting technique developed in France circa 19th century. This process involves packing colored glass paste-like powders into a plaster mold and firing the mold to create a solid object made of glass. Pate de verre is very interesting because it allows for subtle gradations of color that is virtually impossible to achieve with other glass working processes. Once you have created your glass object you can then begin the metal smithing processes such as bezel or prong settings, wire wrapping, or any other way you can dream up to connect glass to metal...this is when the real fun begins! For Vixen Vice I am thinking color and design meets with bold statement wearable art pieces.

My April meditation can be summed up in this quote from Donatella Versace "Fashion is about dreaming and making other people dream" It is a desire for me as the creator of Vixen Vice Jewelry to enable wearers to embrace the power of the feminine and their own strong, resielient and beautiful spirits. The new Pate de verre designs will lead that journey. Women should boldly take their place in this world and look great doing exactly that. William Wordsworth wrote,"how does the meadow flower its bloom unfold? Because the lovely little flower is free down to its root, and in that freedom bold."

So my beautiful Vixens, GO BOLDLY forward and blossom with a vivacious color pop from Vixen Vice jewelry around your neck!

Talk to you again in May!

Gina

Pate de verre molds in the kiln after firing

Removing the glass from the molds

Glass as it was just removed from the mold

P.S.

You can find the finished products from this blog on this website and in my ETSY shop sometime this summer!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page