top of page
Featured Posts

Putting It All Together


Hello once again everyone! I seem to have missed the entire month of May, but not to worry, I'm back now! Actually May was a really great month. Semesters wrapped up along with some of my creative endeavors, thus making May a time of things comming together. That brings me to this, my latest blog...

As you know I have been working with Pate de Verre process and I have been really loving that! I am just now beginning to marry the glass pieces with metals for beautiful jewelry. The picture above is my first attempt at making this idea a reality. I paired the glass with hammered copper for a lovley look and feel. I decided to drill into the glass and prong set the focal glass piece on the copper. You will notice that the glass broke on the far upper side as I was pushing it onto the copper prong, so this will be a piece that I will keep. As a person that works with glass I should have known better than to push the glass too hard, as glass is prone to breaking if not handeled with care , however, in this case my excitement to see the finished product simply got the better of me and here is the result. I was immediately reminded of how art mirrors life, in this case rushing in with excited force and not taking the proper care with the glass object. As I grow older I have learned to accept mistakes as a part of life and an important part of the learning, growing and creative processes. In fact there is a japanese aesthetic that also represents this known as Wabi-sabi, which is centered on the acceptance of transience and imperfection. So, not all is lost in this Wabi-sabi work and this piece will serve to remind me to keep my excitement in check! Not to worry Vixens, I will be working with more considerstion to my mediums in the future to bring you the Pate de Verre pieces you deserve!

That brings me to my next topic which is just me in my studio working hard to offer new and exciting designs for my ETSY shop and also at my upcomming show as a vendor at a lavender festival at Hope Hill Lavender Farms June 20th from 11am to 4pm. See their website here:

http://www.hopehilllavenderfarm.com/

As usual I will have my handmade sterling silver, copper, glass and crocheted wire jewelry along with my new venture in LAVENDER INFUSED JEWELRY! I am playing around with creating lavender infused paper and sterling silver wearable jewelry! The ultimate experience in luxury and relaxation! I hope you will come out and see the new designs if you are in the area! I would also like to thank my friend Wendy for her support of Vixen Vice Jewelry and sending me some wonderful and fragrant lavender to experiment with! Oh yeah one more thing, there will also be other vendors, food, nature talks and lavender available at the festival! Hope you can make it!

Well, I need to get back into the studio! Be well and I will talk to you next month, Vixens!

My Best!

GIna

A shot of my Pate de verre piece (without the break!)

Another angle with the break.

LAVENDER to play with! I wish you could smell this! HEAVEN!! Can't wait to see where this journey will lead me!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page