top of page
Featured Posts

Ultra Violet Vixen


Hello everyone; since I missed my May blog post I thought I would catch up by posting again this month. This also allows me the perfect opportunity to let you know what's going on with Vixen Vice Jewelry. So...

This month Vixen Vice is participating in its first ever lavender festival! It will be held at Hope Hill Lavender Farms 2375 Panther Valley Road, Pottsville Pennsylvania on June 20th from 11am to 4pm. I am very excited about doing this festival because not only is lavender on of my favorite scents, but Hope Hill lavender farm is owned and operated by my good friend Wendy and her husband Troy. Wendy and I have been friends since high school so it will be that much better to participate as a vendor and get to see her and her beautiful farm and family (which includes all her wonderful animals!). Now, I realize that not everyone reading this blog will be able to attend this event, however, if you are able I would encourage you to do so! The festival will feature many vendors, artists, food and musical entertainment, as well as lectures about bees, lavender, and master gardeners and Hawk Mountain Sanctuary will also make presentations. Hope Hill and Country Beverage are offering beer and wine tastings and complimentary lavender refreshments to sample also!

Lets talk about the luciousness of lavender for a moment. Lavender is an herb and has many medicinal uses, for example, it can be used to alleviate restlessness, insomnia, nervousness, depression, loss of appetite, nausea, migrain headaches, tooth aches, sprains, nerve and joint pain. It can be applied to the skin for hair loss and to repel mosquitoes and insects. Lavender can be added to a warm bath to treat circulation disorders and improve mental well being. Inhaling the pleasing scent of lavender is used widely in aroma theropy, and in foods and beverages lavender is used as a delicious flavor component. So when Wendy invited me to participate in this year's festival it was an immediate and enthusiastic YES, and now that you have an example of how AWESOME lavender is you understand why I wanted to figure out a way to incopporate it into my jewelry designs for the festival!

To quote Sean Combs (a.k.a. P. Diddy), "Smell is incredibly important and sensual; it communicates who you are." This thought has been the muse for my new lavender infused jewelry designs and what I have created is a sensual sensory experience of sight, smell, sound and touch...not only for my Vixens, but for all those around them as well, and thus, Vixen Vice goes ultra violet! My special designs include handmade lavender infused paper, amethyst stones, purple ocean jasper stones, purple shell, sterling silver, brass and nickle silver jewelry. The very exciting thing about the lavender handmade paper element is that they smell divine and when the fragrance wears off lavender essential oils can be applied to revive the wonderful scent!

I included some of my pictures creating the lavender paper for my jewelry designs at the end of this blog along with a few finished pieces, but don't worry I will have more surprises for the festival. If you can make it I look forward to seeing you there my beautiful Vixens! I will leave you with this quote from Lyall Watson, "smell is a long distance sense, a way of stretching time and finding out in advance what lies ahead.".

Smell you later, Vixens!

XoXo Gina

That is my blender full of soaked paper and lavender ready to create the lavender infused paper pulp I will use to make the paper. I wish you could smell how wonderful it was to create this pulp! Also a big thanks to Wendy for sending me lavender from her farm to use in my designs!

Pouring the lavender paper pulp on the screen and deckle to create flat sheets of fragrant handmade paper.

Wet lavender paper ready to be dried and used.

This is my make-shift paper press. It will help me remove as much water as possible from the paper and expedite the drying process. It is just two plastic cutting boards from the dollar store clamped with C clamps. Cheap and effective!

One of my designs with soldered sterling silver and the lavender paper used in some of the negative spaces.

Here is another piece using mostly lavender paper and amethyst and jade stone beads. This piece is like wearing a slice of Heaven! It is light, bold and smells simply DIVINE!

See you at the festival!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page