top of page
Featured Posts

One Busy Vixen Creating With Color!


AAAHHHHH! Hello March and creating with color. This month is a continuation of the vibrant pop of color I began in Febuary. My inspiration for this month is working with copper and coloring with patinas.

I began my inspiration by designing elements in copper that I cut out with the plasma cutter instead of my usual jewelrs saw and, WOW, that's all it took! The edges of the plasma cut copper are wonderfully organic and lively, and the heat produced by the plasma cutter as it slices through the copper leave a beautiful heat patina that I instantly fell in love with. Okay, let me back track a little for those who are unfamiliar with plasma cutting. This is a process used to cut steel or many other metals of various thicknesses using a plasma torch. Gas (oxygen, air, inert and others) are blown at a high speed out of a gun-like nozzle and at the same time an electrical arc is formed through that gas from the nozzle to the surface being cut, thus turning some of the gas intp plasma. This plasma is hot enough to melt the metal being cut and moves fast enough to blow molten metal away from the cut. In essence it is kind of like drawing with lightening...(one of my favorite past-times!). The heat patina that is produced it also interesting because it is fairly uniform on each piece...which is sweet when you are cutting matching pieces. This got me interested in using my acetylene torch on the copper to create beautiful and unique heat patinas as well. This has proven to be quite an adventure since I am very much a beginner with torch patina, but at the same time that is what I find so engaging, the element of experimentation and exploration!

I am familiar with chemical patinas that may be purchased to create color on copper, however, my next venture into creating with color happened when I read about homemade patina recipes. I immediately decided to push some of my copper crocheted pieces in this direction. So far my favorite method was the salt and vinegar potatoe chip patina recipe...anytime I can work a snack in with creating I am all in! The patina created with this method vary from a jade to a turquoise blue, even some red-browns can be attained. Since it is not an exact science the results can be new and exciting every time! I love it.

Well I better go check on my potatoe chip patina...my copper awaits! I am hoping to have these new pieces ready for sale in my etsy shop, and for view in my metals and glass gallery at this website by sometime in April. Until then, I'm one busy Vixen signing off!

Happy March to all and I will talk to you again soon.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page